top of page

Coming to you live from ... Cleveland, Ohio (Go Cavs)!

Last year, when my partner broke the news that he'd landed a job in the US, I was so thrilled for him. Absolutely ecstatic. What a great career opportunity! And, of course, I agreed to tag along. Any excuse to leave Melbourne for a while and see something new. Why not?

So where would we be based? I asked, giddy at the prospect of living in New York or San Francisco –

"Cleveland," he said, with a double take of his inbox. "It says here I’ll be based in Cleveland, Ohio."

To which I replied ... "Come again?”

After that, I briefly recall trying to get my head around America's northeast on Google maps. Head tilted, zooming-in on the state of Ohio, my initial thoughts were, well ... it's kind of close to New York City – actually it's about an hour plane ride away.

Fast forward to February 2015.

It's been almost a month since we moved into Cleveland's Theatre District, Downtown. I can honestly say I am quite impressed with what we’ve found here. Cleveland is a quaint little city. The people are friendly, honest and welcoming – and they absolutely LOVE Aussie accents.

Downtown | Local basketball legend LeBron James (Cleveland Cavaliers).

In the heart of North American winter, the weather in Cleveland is FREEZING with temperatures ranging anywhere between 0 to -20C (32 to -4F). Each morning, while sipping on my filtered Erie Island black coffee, I watch the snow fall outside our apartment window.

Some days the white snowflakes are so thick and fluffy they resemble feathers, floating down from the sky. I love when Cleveland turns on the snow globe. I don't think I’ve ever appreciated winter so much. One minor caveat, walking the streets can be a bit of a battle when it’s been snowing heavily or the plough trucks haven’t come through. And I am not the type to remain housebound when things need to get done. The other day I almost fell over while carrying bags of groceries and trudging through about two feet of foamy white snow in the Warehouse District.

Cleveland, Downtown | By night ...

Cleveland, Downtown | By day ...

IMG_1682.jpg
ABOUT ME

Freelance writer and photojournalist based in Melbourne, Australia. 

When we travel, we put ourselves out there, we meet new people and, whether we like it or not ... We grow. 

 

Perhaps it's the thrill of adventure, learning new languages, navigating unknown streets. Or, maybe it's the exhilaration which comes by going off the grid. Being in a different time zone. Not knowing what day it is. Getting lost. Finding freedom.

Once thing's for sure, each time I travel, I return home to Australia with renewed perspective. Life goes on, normality ensues, but I am forever changed.

 

This blog is a collection of afterthoughts, photos and tips which provide insight into the places I've been and the cities I've seen. Thanks for checking in.

- Stacey

WHERE AM I NOW ?
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
©2017 The Runaway Lantern
bottom of page