top of page

A little piece of London

It takes a while to get to London from Melbourne but I got there in the end, flying with Qatar Airways and the stopover wasn't too lengthy at all. Of course, when flying in economy class the window seat is always a great distraction from someone kicking in the back of your seat. Doha, from here you remind me of something lovely from an old movie, like a desert Casablanca snow globe.

This is my first time in England, and I am here for an event which doesn't leave me much time to write. But I'm determined to make it work. Plus, there's so much architectural brilliance that it seems like you'd have to go out of your way to take a bad photo. London, I wish you could see yourself through my eyes. Yours is an eclectic type of beauty. A quiet yet noisey, foreign yet familiar, vague but distinctive place that's left a lasting impression on me.

I think it would be rather easy for any Australian to adapt to the English way of life. Obviously, due to colonial ties there are so many similarities in the way things are done; they have pence, we have cents. They have the Underground rail network where you use an Oyster card to touch on, we Melburnians have Myki (although, the transport system here seems much more efficient, with more services and less delays).

In the lead up to this trip, friends of mine who regularly travel to London described it as a modern city encased in old-worldly charm. This is true, it's hard not to notice the grandeur of awe-inspiring buildings scattered on so many street corners. Yes. I am in love with London's history, its cultural attractions and quaint little shops ...

Being here for only a relatively short period of time, I was able to do a lot of walking around with my handy little map provided to me by the concierge of our hotel in Shoreditch. On the recommendation of a friend, I chose to stay in this district and I definitely wasn't disappointed.

Shoreditch in eastern London is packed with so many cute cafes, street food eateries and bars. There's a thriving community of young and old and, for me, the suburb has a similar vibe and edginess that you might find back home in Fitzroy or St.Kilda's Acland Street. I've explored as much as possible on foot, rail and double-decker bus! Key points of interest have included: the British Museum, Oxford Street, Piccadilly Circus and Tower Bridge. I wish I could spend more time here. There's so much more ground to cover.

London, we have some serious unfinished business. I'll see you again soon I promise. xx

Painted buildings and double-decker buses everywhere!

London's iconic Oxford Street is filled with fashion retail stores and souvenir shops

London's British Museum

THE PARTHENON MARBLES – perpetually on display in the British Museum since 1817. As a history major, I recall learning about these sculptures in a unit called 'Great Debates: unfinished business of the past'. It's one thing to read about these precious remnants of Ancient Greek history, quite another to behold them. The British Museum is filled with relics collected from countries across the globe. Other notable items that draw thousands of tourists per year include, include: the Rosetta Stone, Ancient Egyptian and Assyrian statues, medieval European art, jewels, weaponry and more. (Below: the Parthenon Marbles, and other works on display at the British Museum).

The main atrium in the British Museum is simply breathtaking.

Thanks for reading! If you're interested, you can check out my travel tips or learn about my time spent in the USA by clicking here or here.


ABOUT ME

Freelance writer and photojournalist based in Melbourne, Australia. 

When we travel, we put ourselves out there, we meet new people and, whether we like it or not ... We grow. 

 

Perhaps it's the thrill of adventure, learning new languages, navigating unknown streets. Or, maybe it's the exhilaration which comes by going off the grid. Being in a different time zone. Not knowing what day it is. Getting lost. Finding freedom.

Once thing's for sure, each time I travel, I return home to Australia with renewed perspective. Life goes on, normality ensues, but I am forever changed.

 

This blog is a collection of afterthoughts, photos and tips which provide insight into the places I've been and the cities I've seen. Thanks for checking in.

- Stacey

WHERE AM I NOW ?
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
©2017 The Runaway Lantern
bottom of page