top of page

Getting close to nature in North America: Part I – Ohio

My journey in North America is nearing its end and I cannot believe how the months have flown by in such whirlwind fashion. I’ve walked the opulent passageways of Grand Central Station in NYC, stood beside the frozen white wasteland of Cleveland's Lake Erie mid-winter, watched the Chicago River run green for St Patrick’s Day weekend and gazed up at the CN Tower, one of the Seven Wonders of the Modern World, in Toronto. After months hopping around in places previously unknown to me, I felt it was time to remove myself from the hustle and bustle of the city streets, and detach for a while in the American wilderness.

In just a few weeks, I've gone from the Midwestern homesteads of Ohio to the bountiful plains of Yosemite Valley in the Wild, Wild West. That’s right – cactus and cowboy country – sunny California. After a freezing Ohio winter, I must admit I’d almost forgotten what it was like to feel the sun on my face. These wonderful experiences getting close to nature in Ohio and California were diverse, I felt it was necessary to break them into two parts. So here goes…

PHOTO JOURNAL – OHIO

Akron Zoo

Grizzly bear

Snow leopards

Wild at heart – Tiger

Pretty in pink – Flamingos

Lions

A deer in Cuyahoga Falls National Park, Ohio

Hale Farm, rural Ohio

Homesteads, Ohio

Geographically, Ohio is located in America's northeast but culturally, the state is considered part of the Midwest.

ABOUT ME

Freelance writer and photojournalist based in Melbourne, Australia. 

When we travel, we put ourselves out there, we meet new people and, whether we like it or not ... We grow. 

 

Perhaps it's the thrill of adventure, learning new languages, navigating unknown streets. Or, maybe it's the exhilaration which comes by going off the grid. Being in a different time zone. Not knowing what day it is. Getting lost. Finding freedom.

Once thing's for sure, each time I travel, I return home to Australia with renewed perspective. Life goes on, normality ensues, but I am forever changed.

 

This blog is a collection of afterthoughts, photos and tips which provide insight into the places I've been and the cities I've seen. Thanks for checking in.

- Stacey

WHERE AM I NOW ?
RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
©2017 The Runaway Lantern
bottom of page